Not really Spain & Portugal (& Gibraltar)

Bobbie and I recently spent 15 days–when you add in travel time–cruising the Iberian coastline from Barcelona south to Gibraltar then north ultimately to Lisbon. The trip was delightful. We were well cared for at every moment by Grand Circle Cruise Line’s program director and crew who genuinely seemed to enjoy their tasks and our presence. At each of a dozen stops we saw magnificent churches, picturesque old towns (with the occasional no-longer-Jewish Jewish Quarter,) Medieval and Roman and–perhaps most remarkably–Phoenician ruins. Sagrada Familia, the Gaudi church still being built in Barcelona, remains the high point of this trip for me. The only way I could make a poor photograph in this place was by accidentally shooting my feet or the back of some other tourist’s head as she passed between me and my intended target–and yes, I did both.

Along with documenting the trip to re-trigger our memories in whatever distant future might remain to us, I also found more than enough time and subject matter to do some of my more personal visuals. Here–and in no way intended to represent our trip–are a few of my current favorites.

Enjoy!

Leaving the Clio

 

Gaudi’s Casa Batllo at night, Barcelona

 

Sagrada Familia

 

Valencia

 

Reservatauro Rondo

 

Malaga’s Jewish Quarter

 

Malaga’s Jewish Quarter

 

Ray

 

Gibralter: Macaque monkey

 

Seville: Jewish Quarter

 

Seville: Plaza de Espana

 

Seville: Holy Week Parade float carrier

 

The road to Cordoba

 

Cordoba: Jewish quarter

 

Cordoba: Mezquita-Catedral de Cordoba

 

Cordoba: Mezquita-Catedral de Cordoba

 

Loule Portugal

 

Loule Portugal

 

Francisco Carrusca Cork Factory, Portugal

 

Alfama, Lisbon

 

Published in: on May 4, 2017 at 11:37 am  Comments (21)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://goldberg.wordpress.com/2017/05/04/not-really-spain-portugal-gibraltar/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

21 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wonderful, as usual.
    Welcome back!

    Like

  2. Looks lovely! Spain is a great vacation. Haven’t been to Portugal. Adding it to the list now. Thanks Goldenmeisterdude!

    Like

  3. Judith Raices

    to Richard
    Good post!

    Like

  4. Dick & Bobby,
    So happy you were able to see some of Spain. I lived in Seville from 1959 to 1961 and it was there that I became interested in photography which I did as a career for over 45 years. I have been back 3 times since I lived there and each time was like a home coming. I especially liked the photo of the Seville Jewish Quarter. That area is called the barrio de santa cruz and is one of my favorite areas of Sevilla. You were fortunate to be in Sevilla for some of the Semana Santa (Holy Week) which I saw when we lived there but have never been back to see again. It is quite a Catholic spectacle. A lot of the best art treasures in Spain are things left by the Moorish rule many years ago. The Moors were very open and accepting of other religions at that time. Catholics and Jews lived there among them without harm. Some Jews rose to high positions among the Moors. When the last Moor was driven from Spain in 1492, King Ferdinand decreed that if you wanted to say in Spain you must become Catholic or will will kill you……so much for tolerance.

    Like

  5. Stunning

    Like

  6. Beautiful photographs, Richard. You have such a good eye (at least one!). Seriously, it looks like it was a great trip. I’m sure looking at the pics again and again brings you and Bobbie a lot of pleasure. xox

    Like

  7. graeme beaton

    to Richard
    Great pix, Dick.

    Like

  8. marge kennedy

    to richsgold
    Richard, These photos and words are wonderful. I just spent the last hour reading and enjoying. Now I’m back to this:

    retirement–
    vacation becomes
    something to do

    Like

  9. Hello Richard!

    Nice pictures! Hope all is well looking forward to seeing more pictures.

    Margaret Tapp

    Like

  10. Phoebe Conway: Richard, I just finished looking through all your musings and all your photographs. I cannot begin to find words to tell you how much I enjoyed them. Thanks!

    Like

  11. Lovely photos, as usual. Last December Don and I did OAT to Portugal and Spain. The highlight for me was the post-trip north, to the Basque country. To my surprise and delight, it is also the sites of much evidence of prehistoric man, cave paintings and structures. Was thrilling to stand in a dimly lit cavern seeing a drawing of bison on a wall. I want to write about that experience some day soon… on my list of one of these days.

    Like

  12. Dick..Bless you and Bobbie..as always thanks for sharing the journey. Lew

    Like

  13. Nice job Richard. Thanks for sharing… Barbara 😊
    Barbara Armstrong

    Like

  14. Hi Richard,
    Welcome back.
    Love your photos and prose and your: waxing poetic hither and yon.
    As always, Dana

    Like

  15. Paul Goldschmidt

    to richsgold
    Thanks ever so much for the rich text and the glorious pictures.

    Like

  16. Thank u again for the wonderful tour! Btw, I’ll buy the book😀

    Sharyn

    Like

  17. I too love senor Gaudi. I will never forget my wonderful trip to Barcelona and enjoying his works. Please get in touch when you get back
    so we can enjoy some companionship.

    Ron Cohen

    Like

  18. Fab photos and I loved the Haigas !
    Roxy

    Like

  19. eve winer

    You are a very talented photographer. Perhaps you should find a publisher to make a book.

    Like

  20. Hi:

    Thanks Richard. The pictures are awesome. Thanks for sharing.

    Best,

    Huguette

    Like

  21. Once again I’m stuck on your unbelievable photography!
    Shirley

    Like


Leave a Reply

