A confession

While I certainly thank all of you who’ve praised my photography, the truth is, it’s not about me. I just happen to spend more and more of my time–with my camera, of course–in the right place. Sunday offers a perfect example of what I’m talking about.

Bobbie’s daughter Lynn from Harwinton, Connecticut spent this weekend with us. She brought along her grandson from Las Vegas, Michael.  Here they are at the American Museum of Natural History the day after the event I’m about to report and, of course, illustrate.

Lynn & Michael Turner

We’d gone to the Statue at Mike’s request. His status as Lynn’s grandchild and my great grand child as well as this being a rare visit from his home on an Air Force base in the Nevada desert gave all his requests great weight. So, you see, all this is just another way of saying, it was all because of Mike.

On our way back from Liberty and Ellis Islands, in the transition from the Battery Park dock to the #1 train, Mike spotted a most unusual building, one I’d never noticed before although, as it turns out, it had been at that location for a year:

“Let’s see what it is,” he said in an eight year old voice  which utterly belies his noteworthy sharpness and intelligence.

“OK,” say I in a voice dragged almost to a mumble by the heat and humidity and hour spent walking around Miss Liberty. We went.

The Seaglass Carousel!

I went speechless while Mike kept up both ends of our conversation. On automatic, I put my camera against the glass wall/window and randomly clicked the shutter–never looking at the camera screen to see what it was showing. Here are the results:

1-IMG_6559

2-IMG_6560

3-IMG_6561

4-IMG_6562

5-IMG_6563

6-IMG_6564

As much as I’d like to take credit for these snaps, it’s clearly not about “credit.” I’m blessed to live in a world that–without consulting me–constantly provides me with visual beauty and excitement. I can live with that.

Here’s a link to their video:

http://www.thebattery.org/seaglass/

Published in: on August 15, 2016 at 3:18 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://goldberg.wordpress.com/2016/08/15/a-confession/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Cool! Doesn’t it make you want to go inside and try it out?

    Like

  2. Magical- I want to ride on it! Did you?

    Leslie Sue Lieberman, Ph.D.

    Like

  3. Dennis OConnor

    It’s rich with Rich.. Photos are just so varied and your writing is top draw.. Great blog..

    Learn over and over again that beauty and excitement come spontaneously and live well outside the realm of value judgements!

    Like

  4. Hey Dick,
    You always have the most beautiful / interesting photos!
    Andy

    Like

  5. Leslie Goshko

    Hey Richard!

    Great photos! Thanks for sharing and happy shutter clicking 😉

    :)L

    Like

  6. you need not apologize for your photos, writings, or philosophy. your followers appreciate your efforts.

    Like


Leave a Reply

