First Haiga

First a definition, drawn from AHApoetry.com:

Haiga is a Japanese concept for simple pictures combined with poetry, usually meaning haiku…It can be watercolor paintings, photographs or collages with a poem of any genre that is integrated into the composition. Sometimes the poem is handwritten or it can be computer generated, depending on the artist’s taste.

Haiga is a combination of visual image and poetry, each to enrich the other and, ultimately, to lead the reader/viewer beyond what is presented toward what their own life experience suggests.

Here are my first first:

 

Fez, Morocco

 

W 181, NYC

 

W. 72nd near B'way

 

Central Park

 

First snow fantasy

 

Enfield sunlight

 

Koch Theater, Lincoln Center

 

 

Freeman Street #2 station

 

Chrysler Building, NYC

 

03-Niantic 2015

 

]]At Nianatic Crescent Beach

 

Ghost of the Klein

 

Manhattan Av

Manhattan Av

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Published in: on July 23, 2016 at 1:53 pm  Comments (19)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://goldberg.wordpress.com/2016/07/23/first-haiga/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

19 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Particularly enjoying “snowflake” and “painted mailbox”. I would love to see a large photo print of “snowflake”.

    Like

  2. One worth a 1000
    A 1000 worth 1

    Like

  3. each frame elicited a comment-unfortunately my faulty memory has failed me again–your stuff is always a joy–create great!!!!

    Like

  4. My favorite is the one snowflake picture, with the splotchy bright primary colors. I also like the starkness of the soft steps picture, with the isolated people.

    Like

  5. west/foyle

    Goldberg,

    i like the mailbox best.

    Like

  6. Good work. Thanks, as always Peace & Blessings!

    C. Wainwright, MA, QP

    Like

  7. petweiss

    to richsgold
    That’sbeautiful.

    Like

  8. richard,

    i like the poem/picture mix very much. and you’re a very good photographer.

    love to you both,

    alan

    Like

  9. Beautiful and interesting pictures and matching haiku enhanced the photos.

    Naomi

    Like

  10. Interesting. You are very adeventurous and talented.
    Sincerely,
    Eve

    Like

  11. got the real one…great!

    Annie

    Like

  12. Richard – these are fabulous! The Haiga is a perfect form of expression for you.
    Be well,
    Tobi

    Like

  13. I really enjoyed these – more than I thought I would! I just like the photos, and your haiku-ish comments. I especially like the first two pics (the windows and the window display one), and also the one about “Full Moon, my city…” And I love the one about the intermission. I think the pics and the text have equal weight, almost. Love it.

    It also makes me think I should get out more! I have to take Melanie to see the oculus!!

    I hope that you will continue to enjoy the summer and take such interesting “pics plus poetry!”

    Love to you and Bobbie.

    Valerie

    Like

  14. Robert

    Beautiful and creative work, again.

    Like

  15. Paul

    to richsgold
    Thank you for the new blog. I enjoyed the many beautiful photographs.
    I couldn’t help but notice that Benny looks amazingly like one of my grandsons who is now 35 years old.

    Like

  16. Wow Richard, this is awesome and amazing. You’re so creative. Thanks for sharing it with me. It’s so personal, I see how I can relate it to some of my life’s experiences. I just came home after spending a week in Belmar, at the beach. See you soon at the Center.

    Regards.

    Huguette

    Like

  17. Denise

    I’ll do ‘morning coffee on the porch, later tequila’.

    Like

  18. I always enjoy when the person behind the lens becomes attached to the camera allowing it to capture “life’s beauty”. You haven’t lossed the touch Dick. Be Well!

    Like

  19. Hi Richard:

    I never cease to be amazed at what you can do with the camera. You’re so talented. The last one about haiga was awesome. More so, because I’m not good at that, but I appreciate receiving all this from an expert. Thank you.

    See you soon at the center. Hopefully, it will be cooler soon.

    Regards.

    Huguette

    Like


Leave a Reply

