Who do you love?

First from the pen of Bo Diddley:

 

 

I walked 47 miles of barbed wire,
Used a cobra snake for a necktie.
I got a brand new house on the roadside
Made outta rattlesnake hide.
I got a brand new chimley up on top
Made outta some human skulls.
So take a little walk with me Arlene
And tell me who do ya love.

(Get ready!  Here comes the relevant part:)

Who do you love?  Who do you love?
Who do you love?  Who do you love?

Back on the 15th of this month I was blessed to be present at the 25th wedding anniversary of these folks, Walter & Iris.

Bobbie & I…

spent the weekend in Hartford as guests of these folks, April & Lew…

…and also visited these folks, Ron & Connie.

It was a phone call with this man several days later, the one above with the unstoppable grin–in fact it was the grin!–that inspired this post.  The heart of our exchange went like this:

Him: “You want to know why I’m grinning?”

Me: “Tell me.”

Him: “Look who I’m holding onto!”

In the past I’ve asked you to write a six word autobiography and to write a poem of  a dozen words or less.  Now I want to know who do you love. It could be a significant other, a child, a parent or sibling or a friend.  Maybe  an aunt or uncle or grandparent.  It could be the one who listens to you without interrupting or using the time to figure out what they’ll say when you finally shut up.   Whoever it is, it must be a human being, though.  Perhaps in the future I’ll get nosy about your favorite pet or Disney-beast favorite renaissance poet or shortstop, but not this time.

Use the”Leave a Comment” or “Comments”gizmo at the end of this to tell me  who the lucky person or people might be.  After a while I’ll post a little something to alert you to check out all the comments.

Thanks for playing!

Published in: on August 26, 2010 at 1:36 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://goldberg.wordpress.com/2010/08/26/who-do-you-love/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My soul mate April Ann Goff is the center of my life. My bride she will always be. Every day is an adventure of learning and dedication to assuring, joy and happiness is realized for us, family and friends. We’re truly blessed.

    Like

  2. you, my love…you. also…my 3 wonderful children who keep on making me SO proud!!….I love my 2 adorable grandsons, my brother and sister-in-law (beautifully referenced in your blog)…and my parents who, although not living in this dimension at this time, are always with me in my heart.

    Like

  3. Oh yes, the first thing that came to my mind was my community; not just my loved ones but the variety of smart, active, interesting, involved, gracious…..people I brush up against all day walking or biking around town or at my store. You have all helped me compose my life.
    So thankful I found you and stayed with you the last 36 years

    Like


Leave a Reply

