A Love Letter…

Sunday afternoon…Bobbie’s up in Connecticut visiting two of her kids: Mike who’s not long back from a year in Iraq with the US Army and Kim who’s in her fourth year of being the mother of twins among other things.  Me, I’m in my 69th year and missing this woman like a 16 year old in the middle of a doowop tune from when I actually was 16, first met her and was too shy to even speak to her.

*   *   *

Have  you heard John Coltrane’s Stardust?  I’ve been a Coltrane fan since 1963 when Randy and Janie gave me My Favorite Things for my 21st birthday–a debt I can never repay.  The Stardust album is like a French impressionist painting: novel enough to be exciting and occasionally challenging, familiar enough to give you a piece of solid ground from which to launch into the new then safely return.  Ultimately it loves it’s subject and is beautiful beyond any words used in the past.

*   *   *

And two poems, one by Ryokan, a 19th century Zen hemit monk, and Mary Lou Kownacki, a contemporary Roman Catholic nun.  First his:

Time passes,

Thre is no way

We can hold it back–

Why, then, do thoughts linger on,

Long after everything else is gone?

Then hers:

Time

Stands

Still.

There

Is

No

Way

We

Can

Push

It

Forward–

I

Still

Live

In

The

Moment

You

Left

Me.

*   *   *

And, even better, she’ll be home tomorrow!

Published in: on August 1, 2010 at 7:12 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://goldberg.wordpress.com/2010/08/01/a-love-letter/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Your recent post about hai ku got me in the mode…
    Did one for recent love Lee..sadly moved away but thought the poem was good – described our relationship well……..

    Les, Lee
    Lovers
    we
    exceptionally

    Like

  2. may it happen to me – soon

    Like

  3. I truly appreciate the fact that I am missed when I go away for the weekend. It was great seeing the kids. It was also wonderful coming home to a great big bear hug and wonderfully clean area rugs!! Thanks, honey, for the love expressed in so many ways…

    Like

  4. Richard,

    I know about missing the other one. Just got back from nearly three weeks in South Africa and the worst part was the two weeks I spent in the Kalahari (Earth Watch trip dealing with meerkats) I had no internet to Skype my heart throb of 45 years. No phone, no radio, tv (who needs it?), no cafe, no store, just the sand and the sky.

    Know you are counting the minutes until Bobbie’s back. Have a great reunion.

    Judy

    Like


Leave a Reply

