(Another) Revelation!

IMG_1966

WARNING: This is going to be one of those posts in which I’ll begin by being a little cute and ramble around until I eventually focus on something.  Since I keep dealing with the same things and since there’s really no reason to expect I’m about to try something new or different now, you might find yourself wondering why you’re bothering to read this in the first place.  You already know that somehow it will eventually come back to a moment of discovery, me gaining a new and brilliant understanding which, when all is said and done,  was obvious to anyone who was paying attention from the beginning.  And God forbid I should let it all end without some final cutitude.

Don’t say you haven’t been warned.

*   *   *

It’s been about a month since I’ve added anything to this space.  Not that there hasn’t been subject matter:

1. The lingering impact of a bike crash way back on Labor Day weekend.

2. Our block association’s annual White Elephant Sale.

3. A colonoscopy and an endoscopy (not done simultaneously.)

4. Joyfully reconnecting with folks from my past through Facebook.

5. My participation in a 5 day Western Zen Retreat up north (some of my readers will respond more to that geographic reference than will others).

6. A one day tour of wineries and farm stands on Long Island’s North Fork.

7. My computer which now takes a full 15 minutes to contact the internet.

8. Right now, when I’d ordinarily be sitting in meditation at Still Mind Zendo, but left after only a few minutes this morning when the pain in my knee (see #1 above) set off a round of suffering which made continued sitting impossible for me.

OK, forget the warning!  Let me just get right to it, the same “it” which runs through all 8 possibilities–especially when I realize that #1 and #8 are the same.

Anyhow, here come the revelations, beginning with #2:

THE WHITE ELEPHANT SALE

IMG_2186

Imagine me and Bobbie sitting out behind a table and in front of a schoolyard fence both covered with things we once loved or needed or–more likely–wanted on a beautiful Sunday morning and eventually afternoon.  Me thinking: I hate this.  This is the last place on earth–with the exception of active combat zones–that I want to be.  I want to be on my bicycle.  I’m only doing this out of marital obligation.  If I were single or if I loved Bobbie any less–but I’m neither of those, and I do love helping her–actually this helps us–and it’s kind of fun being out here in the sun,  meeting people and getting into conversations with folks I’ve never met before, even reminiscing behind some of the life artifacts up for sale.

Hey! When I focus on what I’m actually doing and not what I’m thinking,  I’m not suffering.

Hey hey!! Here I am out in the sunshine  having a great time and noticing that I choose to suffer or not by my perspective.  It all comes from how I see things, not from what I see.

Hey hey hey !!! (with apologies to Krusty the Klown)  This is good stuff.

Rereading what I’ve put down so far, it now occurs to me that my point’s been made.  No need to write about the retreat or leaving the zendo early or discovering that the 15 minutes it takes to get onto the internet makes for a built-in 15 minute meditation period.  Definitely no need to write about tubes being stuck into my digestive and ingestive systems.

‘Nuff said, I say!  although I really want to include this from the first email opened after the 15 minute wait:

…it is the perspective of the sufferer that determines whether a given experience perpetuates suffering or is a vehicle for awakening.

–Mark Epstein

IMG_2114

Published in: on October 24, 2009 at 12:53 pm  Comments (6)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://goldberg.wordpress.com/2009/10/24/another-revelation/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I guess it just takes some people longer than others to realize the obvious.
    You write well (always have…loved that about you in high school), your photos are great, and your artwork is great also.
    All obvious to me.

    Like

  2. HUH?

    Like

  3. mr. farmer;

    with chicken and corn well……….perhaps loving is best!

    Like

  4. Hey! The good news is: after leaving this morning you continued sitting.

    Pamper those joints. Be well.

    Like

  5. You have been very busy indeed. Continue having fun, life is too short and
    “never compromise yourself, you’re all you’ve got”

    Be well

    Like

  6. Hi Dick,
    I’d like to refer to the biker in you and share my courages friends’ biking experiences to and in the city. Ruth and Michael, my long and dear Israeli friends, spent 2 months in the US. Anchored in my house, they cleverly searched the internet for places to visit, bought a bike on Craigs list, and with my bike had a pair for both of them. They rode from my home in NJ to the train station, got on the train (with bikes), off in Penn Station and all over NYC, and Brooklyn. They’d seen and experienced things I hadn’t seen in 20 years here. They’d done it several times and I would wait (till 1 in the morning) for the fifty year old youngsters to come back safe and sound (I think the ride from the train station back to my house was the worst)and tell me their day’s adventures. People here thought they’re crazy to do that, but the truth is, biking is the best way to travel. Kudus to them!
    Love,
    Hava

    PS: Keep riding and writing for as long as you can.
    Health and long life to you and Bobby

    Like


Leave a Reply

