Morocco 2007

100_32812.jpg  (Imagine a picture of me, face swathed in a sand-protective Berber scarf, only eyes visible and expressionless.)

Al hamdou lilla, or “Thanks, God!” as my Aunt Kitty would say. For two weeks in December 2007 I was blessed to be surrounded by wonderful travel companions in a most wonderful place, Morocco. Led by a truly fine guide, we tasted the major cities, losing ourselves in the timeless medinas of Fez, Meknes, Tineghir, and Rabat and ultimately in the haunting spirituality of the Sahara and the Atlas Mountains.

Words don’t really work for me when it comes to relating this trip. Later on, after there’s been more digestion time, I’ll probably fill up some space talking about what I think I’ve learned–particularly from the medinas and the desert. Not now, though. Now is the time for visuals. Click this link

http://picasaweb.google.com/richsgold/Morocco2007

to get to a web album of my photos. Now there are about 400 photos, so, using the slide show set at 4 seconds per snap, it’ll take about 27 minutes to see the whole thing. If you want to get through it even faster, you can set the slide duration for less. Hey, you can even shut the whole thing down before reaching the end.

Published in: on December 23, 2007 at 3:04 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://goldberg.wordpress.com/2007/12/23/morocco-2007/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Looking at this photo gallery, I am struck by a few thoughts:
    1) I have to add this to the list of places I will go to before I die.
    2) The lack of Goldberg in so many of the pictures. Taiwanese people view it as necessary to include large helpings of self in their tourist photo albums, as proof that they really were there, whereas Americans are more willing to take your word for it.
    3) Your idea of “cute kids” leaves something to be desired, although I expect “cute” is used in a sarcastic context here. Of course, after living for three years in a country where sarcasm doesn’t exist, it’s hard for me to notice right off.
    and 4) I just realized that all of these thoughts (including this one) are more about me than you or your trip, which reminds of how self-centered I really am. Of course, since I can’t read minds, it may be that I’m no more self-centered than anyone else.
    But you doubt it. 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

    Like


Leave a Reply

