Drinking, Drugging & Drawing

in-front-of-55.jpg Back in the very early 1980’s, although I didn’t realize it at the time, I was approaching the end of 25 years of a lot of intoxication. i-am-not-a-junkie.jpg

(By the way you can click on each drawing to enlarge it. Sometimes it takes a lot of scrolling to see the whole image.)

More and more of my feelings were finding their way into consciousness, sometimes disguised, philosopher-queen.jpg sometimes not. bar-rage.jpg

Bar life let-me-guess.jpg hadn’t changed but I had.  The clown in front of the tequila, weed in the wallet, mouth filled with clever bar talk, had morphed into a character where he was once a participant.  Even more disturbing, an ever-growing part of me had found a way to stand away from the bar, observe and even make remarks about my nightly performances in this land of I’d-rather-be-elsewhere-believe-me. Sometimes it was cute.  owen.jpg Sometimes it was worse.  not-responsible.jpg

But time is cool, especially when you can be patient and curious.  By the mid-’80’s it was all different again.

Published in: on December 9, 2006 at 9:58 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://goldberg.wordpress.com/2006/12/09/drinking-drugging-drawing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hmmmm . . . odd that you had a beard in 1945, at age 3.

    Like

  2. There has never been a time since I’ve known you that you didn’t have hair somewhere on your head, so I’m not at all surprised that you had a beard when you were three! The hair has just shifted around from place to place, decade after decade. You’re still cute!
    The 80’s were in fact a time of drinkin’, druggin’ and drawin’ for many of us. Like you, many of us took a step back and observed and that may well have been our saving grace. Some of our loved ones didn’t or couldn’t and they’re gone.
    When you went to the West Coast and ended up in the hospital, it scared the shit out of me, to the point that I’m still leery, about going there for fear I won’t be able to breathe either. A planned trip to LA would definitely become the motivation to cease and desist tobacco.
    I have always loved your sketches and it’s nice to see them again here. Thanx.

    Like

  3. Glad to see you find a scanner! I can’t comment on any ’80s drinking or drugging, since at no point in that decade was I over the age of 10. The only thing I can say is: 1) Glad you got out of it and 2) if your pictures are that interesting when you’re intoxicated, where are the cool ones from when you aren’t?

    Like


Leave a Reply

