Is this Zen…Again?

One hundred steps beyond the top of my book

A man, dressed adequately for all seasons

walks slowly, unsteadily yet gracefully across the grass

separating my bench from the river.

He stops, kneels, then lies down on that grass.

He sleeps.

I read.

After some time he rises

walks a bit more

stopping mostly behind a tree.

He urinates

and then moves on.

At a bench to my left

he spots a newspaper

sits down, reads.

Life provides.  All is good.

I read.

The man who walked, slept, pissed and read

laughs softly, repeatedly

a high pitched ha ha ha.

He gestures enthusiastically

to those I’ll never see

converses intimately, silently with them

words I’ll never hear.

A woman, ears covered

against the noise she creates

drives a Toro mower

in no clear pattern

across the field in front of us.

The smell of fresh cut grass

envelops us both!

Published in: on August 16, 2013 at 1:48 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://goldberg.wordpress.com/2013/08/16/is-this-zen-again/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thanks. That was as cool refreshing and spicy as any ginger beer.

  2. Dear Dick,
    I understand that you weren’t able to see or hear the people your neighbor was talking to. That’s why you were safe. If, on the other hand they can see you, then you are in grave danger. Fresh cut grass is the only preventative. Fortunately, the lawn guys did the grass, completely covering our lawn chairs. I’ll sweep them off carefully and send you a bag of fresh cut grass. If you should see anyone the street you don’t recognize, sprinkle a pinch of grass on them and
    see if they vanish. Better safe than sorry.

    Good luck

    Bill

  3. I love what you can see from behind the lens of a camera; I love even more what you can see without the camera…

  4. From neighbor Stan:
    Couldn’t figure out how to do a ‘comments.’

    But here’s what I’d have said had I known how to.

    I never read poetry and am unmoved by it.

    Except, for once in my life, I liked, read, and appreciated your Zen piece.

    I would have stopped at “word’s I’ll never hear” though.

    Don’t think the addition of the woman driving a Toro mower was a plus.

  5. It’s as good as I said. But I have to recant, because later that day I had a Crabby’s Alcoholic Ginger Beer and it was better.

  6. Your expressions of thoughts and observations is always enjoyed by this reader.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 200 other followers

